The Farmer's Exchange Online Home
Friday, December 7, 2018
Michiana's Popular Farm Paper Since 1926
Click here to subscribe today

Tom Griffiths Leads Indiana Soybean Alliance Board

Published: Friday, January 12, 2018

Indiana Soybean Alliance welcomed new farmer-directors and elected a new officer team at the organization's December board meeting. Tom Griffiths of Kendallville was re-elected as chair of the ISA director board.

"As we look to 2018, we are excited to continue the important work of ensuring that Indiana soybeans are successful in the marketplace," said Griffiths. "Through strategic investment of checkoff funds, the ISA director board will ensure the funds will go toward research and marketing programs that will benefit Indiana soybean farmers."

The ISA board is responsible for directing checkoff funds to drive the success of the Indiana soybean industry. Each year, ISA conducts an election to place farmer-leaders on its board of directors representing each of the state's four districts. This year, ISA welcomed five new members to the board and four members returned for another 3-year term.

In District 1, Denise Scarborough of LaCrosse was elected to the board, and Joe Tuholski of Mill Creek will continue to serve on the board for a third term. District 1 includes Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Tipton, Wabash and White counties.

In District 2, C.J. Chalfant of Harford City was elected to the board and John Emmert of Ligonier will continue to serve on the board for his second term. District 2 includes Adams, Allen, Blackford, DeKalb, Delaware, Grant, Henry, Huntington, Jay, LaGrange, Madison, Noble, Randolph, Steuben, Wayne, Wells and Whitley counties.

In District 3, Derika Lynam-Spaetti of Evansville, Mark Legan of Coatesville and Gary McDaniel of Boonville were selected to represent District 3.

In District 4, Anngie Stein Steinbarger of Edinburgh, Ind. and Jim Douglas of Flat Rock were re-elected to each serve a second term.

In addition to installing new board members, the ISA board also elected a new officer team.

Serving with Griffiths, other members elected to the executive committee include: Joe Tuholski of Mill Creek as vice chair; Anngie Stein of Edinburgh, . as secretary; David Rodibaugh of Rensselaer as treasurer; Jim Douglas of Flat Rock as grain marketing and utilization committee chair; Elaine Gillis of Dunkirk as marketing and communications committee chair; and Phil Ramsey of Shelbyville as membership and policy committee chair.

Return to Top of Page