The Farmer's Exchange Online Home
Friday, December 14, 2018
Michiana's Popular Farm Paper Since 1926
Click here to start your trial subscription!

Elkhart SWCD Honors Prairie Dairy

Published: Friday, March 9, 2018

Prairie Dairy Farms of New Paris was among the honorees at the 76th annual meeting of the Elkhart County Soil and Water Conservation District last Tuesday in Goshen.

The farm, owned by Tim, Lowell and Carl Stoltzfus, was named Conservation Farmer of the Year. The Stoltzfuses raise corn, soybeans, wheat, seed corn and beef cattle. They utilize no-till and strip tillage on a large portion of their farming operation, which has improved water infiltration and reduced surface water runoff. Over the years, they have also been involved with many SWCD field days and activities.

Other top awards were presented to Martin and Judy Rousch, River Friendly Farmer award; Danae Wirth, Conservation Educator of the Year; Kibby Excavating Inc., Urban Conservationist of the Year; and Chuck Harvout, Friend of the SWCD. Harvout is the chairman of the board for the Elkhart County Indiana Master Naturalist Alumni.

In other SWCD business, Tom Kercher of Goshen was reelected to serve a three-year term on the SWCD board. Elkhart County surveyor Philip Barker administered the oath of office to Kercher, and also reappointed supervisor Darrell Shover.

In youth awards, members of the Fairfield soil judging team were recognized for winning the county soil judging contest. The team includes Gaven Erb, Garrett Roth, Greta Yoder and Halee Fisher.

Charlott Myers, a sixth-grade student at Pierre Moran Middle School, designed the winning cover art for this year's SWCD program. She is the daughter of Tim and Sarah Myers of Elkhart.

Other youth winners were: Dylan Springer, Forestry Award; Morgan Solliday, Recycling Award; Taylar McKinley, Soil and Water Science Award; and Jonathan Wesco II, Wildlife Award.

Return to Top of Page