The Farmer's Exchange Online Home
Friday, September 20, 2019
Michiana's Popular Farm Paper Since 1926
Click here to start your trial subscription!

Area FFA Members Seek Officer Positions, STAR Award

Published: Friday, June 7, 2019

The 90th annual Indiana FFA State Convention will be held at Purdue University on June 17-20. The theme of this year's convention is "Surge." Area FFA members seek officer positions and STAR awards.

FFA members from across the state will meet at Purdue to participate in community service, competitions, workshops, motivational speakers and more.

Many awards will be presented at the convention. Agricultural proficiency winners, career leadership development event winners, state STAR winners, honorary degree and distinguished service recipients, and outstanding service awards will all be announced at convention.

Several area FFA members are up for STAR awards. Award candidates and their award area include: Collin Tennant, Manchester, agribusiness; Gabe Hefty, DeKalb, agriscience; and Katelyn Rudolph, South Central and Union Mills, farmer.

Other STAR candidates are: Wyatt Polen, South Newton; Ethan Shannon, West Central; Cade Snethen, Benton Central; Jonathan Poynter, North Putman; Maria Turner, Mt. Vernon; Tyler Bluhm, Adams Central; and Mary Timm, North Putman.

State officers will also be announced during state convention. Officer candidates include: Noah Berning, Heritage; Kirsta Gardner, Rochester; Connor Grumme, Wawasee; Emily Sabin, Wawasee; Quin Schoof, Heritage; Garrett Weldy, NorthWood; and Madelyn Zimmerman, Wawasee.

Other members seeking candidate positions are: Elise Beverly, Columbus; Nathan Fairchild, South Decatur; Ben Harman, Benton Central; Morgan Hinz, South Central; Abigail Kilmer, Tri-County; Caitlyn Lewis, Frontier; Cameron Matthews, Shenandoah; Dillon Muhlenkamp, Jay County; Taylor Roy, Franklin; Isaac Selm, Franklin County; Zachary Sickle, Eastern Hancock; Eion Stephens, Tecumpseh; Jonathan Stockdate, Southwestern-Hanover; and Maria Turner, Mt. Vernon.

This year, there are four honorary degree recipients. Those receiving the award are Jim Armbruster, LPS specialist, National FFA; Sonya Lord-Chamberlin, agriculture educator, STAR Academy FFA chapter; Mike A. Jones, agriculture educator, Adam Central FFA chapter; and Mike G. Jones, agriculture educator, Tippecanoe Valley FFA chapter.

Distinguished Service Award recipients are Steve Koewn, agriculture educator, Carroll at Flora FFA Chapter; and Tom Younts, agriculture educator, Hamilton Southeastern FFA chapter.

Return to Top of Page