The Farmer's Exchange Online Home
Friday, May 13, 2022
Michiana's Popular Farm Paper Since 1926
Click here to subscribe today

Distinguished Jr. Holstein Members Selected

Published: Friday, May 13, 2022

Twelve semifinalists have been named for Holstein Assn. USA's 2022 Distinguished Junior Member awards.

The Distinguished Junior Member award is the highest honor given to members of the National Junior Holstein Association, ages 17 to 21, in recognition of a commitment to the Holstein breed and involvement in a variety of agriculture related activities.

The 2022 Distinguished Junior Member semifinalists are: Jill Allen, Jefferson, Md.; Ryan Allen, Jefferson, Md.; Elise Bleck, Glenbeulah, Wis.; Regan Demmer, Peosta, Iowa; Payton Erbsen, Lanark, Ill.; Jasenko Gavranovic, New Ulm, Minn.; Matthew Gunst, Hartford, Wis.; Hannah Hockerman, Westfield, Wis.; Hannah Houseknecht, Columbia Cross Roads, Pa.; Brian McCullough, Juda, Wis.; Jonathan McGee, Clearfield, Pa.; and Blake Wright, Verona, Mo.

The 12 young adults were selected as semifinalists based on their firsthand working knowledge of the dairy industry and participation in Holstein, dairy, and other activities. The application process includes a resume, story of Junior Holstein work, essay questions, video elements, and more.

Established in 1922, the DJM contest is the longest running Holstein youth program.

The DJM semifinalists will be interviewed at the National Holstein Convention being held June 27 to July 1 in Sioux Falls, S.D. Six DJM finalists will be announced during the junior awards banquet on July 1.

For more information or to register for the 2022 National Holstein Convention visit

Return to Top of Page